Sweltering heat caused tough playing conditions for the South Canterbury Primary A boys cricket team at the South Island Primary Schools tournament in Rangiora this week.

The young side fought hard but had two losses in their final two days.

They did however walk away with the fairplay trophy for the tournament, scoring 39 out of the 40 points decided daily by the umpires.

In Thursday’s game against Christchurch Red, SC batted first and were all out for 109. While in early trouble, the team secured a 53 run partnership for the third wicket with Jack Woodley scoring a fluent 43, well supported by Lachie Robertson who made 12.

A collapse then saw them 89-9, but a little rear guard action saw 20 runs added for the last wicket between Connor Scott 15 and Nick O’Brien who was 8 not out.

In reply the Christchurch team found themselves initiating a spot of trouble at 2 for 16 with Liam Cosgrove taking both wickets. But that was the only good news for the rest of the day as Christchurch Red made 113-2. SC then batted again to reach 22 for 1.

On Friday the team was up against Invercargill Metro and again struggled with the bat going all out for 108. The top scorer of the day was Latham Gibb with 35.

Cosgrove again played well to make 21 runs and partnered with O’Brien they made 30 for the last wicket.

In reply Invercargill were 54-5, but batted through to make SC’s total for the loss of 5 wickets.

Leg-spinner Scott took 2-21 from 8 overs and O’Brien and Michael Lees picked up a wicket a piece.

Coach/manager John Threlkeld said the team fought hard but there were just not enough runs in the bank.

“They are a very young team with huge potential for the coming year.”

Mid Canterbury came out the overall winners, their second only tournament win since 1966. South Canterbury finished up about 9th place out of the 14 competing teams.

A Canterbury Southern Districts team was also named to play in an up and coming Cantebury under 14 tournament. Four SC players were selected in the side – vice captain Michael Hogan, Michael Lees, Jack Woodley, Liam Cosgrove and Connor Scott (non-travelling reserve).

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This