South Canterbury were convincing winners over Mid Canterbury in the annual Ron Biggar Memorial Trophy match played at Aorangi Oval today with Prabodha Arthavidu (61) and Nick Horsley(56) leading from the front.

All the bowlers had a share of the spoils but it was the opening spell by Craig Hinton 3-29 and Alex McDuff 2-23 that set up the comprehensive 70 run win.

View newspaper story here

Match Scoreboard

South Canterbury   
Adam Beckc R Printb B Ravenscroft26
Phil Lillb B Ravenscroft3
Josh Dickc M Winterb B Ravenscroft0
Prabodha Arthavidub R Print61
Nick Horsleyb B Ravenscroft56
Glen Drakec M Winterb H Sinclair21
Liam Becklbwb H Sinclair0
Jacques Maraislbwb R Cockburn5
Sam Carlaw*b R Print9
Alex McDuffnot out9
Craig Hintonrun out(M Tait)3
G WattDesignated Fielder
Extras(b0, lb11, w18, nb1)30
Total(48.0 overs)223-10
FOW:1-37 (Lill), 2-37 (Dick), 3-52 (Beck), 4-141 (Horsley), 5-184 (Drake), 6-184 (L Beck), 7-195 (Arthavidu), 8-202 (Marais), 9-217 (Carlaw), 10-223 (Hinton)
Bowling(O, M, R, W)(W, NB)
R Print10-1-16-23, 0
H Sinclair10-2-43-27, 0
B Ravenscroft9-0-39-44, 0
D Biggs4-1-19-01, 0
R Cockburn10-0-53-12, 0
H Jones5-0-42-01, 1
Mid Canterbury
Callum Gallagherlbwb C Hinton5
Matt Winterc J Dickb C Hinton12
Jonno Printc A Beckb A McDuff0
Bo Houstonc A Beckb A McDuff8
Matt Taitc & bG Watt2
Richard Printc P Lillb C Hinton56
Hayden Sinclairb J Marais6
Ryan Cockburnc N Horsleyb P Lill6
Bevan Ravenscroft*c L Beckb S Carlaw5
Harry Jonesnot out30
Deon Biggsc J Maraisb S Carlaw1
Extras(b2, lb2, w17, nb1)22
Total(41.1 overs)153-10
FOW:1-15, 2-15, 3-22, 4-30, 5-31, 6-67, 7-85, 8-95, 9-121, 10-153
Bowling(O, M, R, W)(W, NB)
C Hinton10-3-29-32, 0
A McDuff10-1-23-23, 0
G Watt5-1-13-12, 1
J Marais5-0-41-17, 0
S Carlaw9.1-2-30-2(2, 0)
P Lill2-0-13-10, 0
Result: South Canterbury Senior Men won by 70 runs

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This