Celtic's James Laming hits one through the leg side against Pleasant Point. He opened the innings and made 58.

Photo Mytchall Bransgrove
Celtic’s James Laming hits one through the leg side against Pleasant Point. He opened the innings and made 58.

Temuka off-spinner Phill Lill picked up a hat-trick in what was the individual highlight in an interesting final round of South Canterbury Club cricket at the weekend.

His 4-17 off five overs helped restrict Star to 168 but Temuka fell eight runs short in the chase, while Timaru defeated Waimate and Celtic were too strong for Pleasant Point.

The main game was Kevin Teahen’s final match for Temuka and it proved a thrilling encounter, with Star just doing enough.

With all of the semifinalists already confirmed, the matches were pretty much seen as dead rubbers.

Star won the toss and decided to bat first against Temuka and after Teahen, who bowled as well as ever, dismissed opener Adam Fahey for 13, they looked to consolidate through Daniel Campbell and Phil McGregor.

The 200-plus game veteran Teahen finished with a very tidy 1-25 off his nine overs.

Star made it through to 77 before Campbell was caught behind for 32.

At 100-4 Star looked quite well placed to post a total close to 200 but the introduction of Lill to the bowling attack quickly halted things.

He was able to get good flight and some purchase out of the flat Temuka Oval wicket and picked up three wickets in a row.

With Star set at 140-4, he sent Hamish Dickson (24), Chris Hyde (12) and Blair Gunn (0) back to the pavilion in the same over.

From there the visitors stuttered through to 168 all out, with Lill starring with 4-17, while Nick Maguire with 2-28 and Kevin Kerse 2-50 provided valuable support.

Temuka managed 161 in reply. They lost Willie Stone and Johnny Geddis early through good bowling from Blair Gunn (2-24) and at 65-6 the game looked like it would be over quickly.

However, cameos from Lill (41) and captain Dillon Lees (39) put Temuka back in the match and on top, until both were dismissed.

Brayden Lindsay picked up the most wickets for Star with 4-35, including the scalps of Lees and Kerse in successive deliveries to win the match, but spinners Chris Hyde (1-20) and Dale Warwood (2-25) were Star’s best bowlers.

Pleasant Point were unable to finish the season on a high, going down to Celtic by eight wickets in their match at Aorangi Oval.

The home side batted first and made it through to 189-7 thanks to a starring knock from Latham Gibb with 80, while Bailey Dryden (27), Stan Mair (26), Cam Lundie and Richard Stowell (both 20), chipped in as they helped Point set a competitive total.

Grant Watt, James Laming and Glen Matthews were the best of the Celtic bowlers with two wickets each.

The defending one-day champions made 190-2, knocking off the runs in only 31.4 overs to cement top spot and book a direct route to the final.

Laming showed his class and why he was missed at the top of the South Canterbury order with 58, while fellow South Canterbury opener Adam Beck smashed 48.

Jacob Naylor (36 not out) and Willie Wright (32 not out) combined to get the visitors home.

Meanwhile, Timaru cemented second spot with a win over an experimental Waimate side at Ashbury Park.

Timaru made 185 and Waimate were bowled out for 107.

Supeshala Jayathilake top scored with 67, while Brad Leonard made 39.

Sam Porter took five wickets against his former side, while Glen Drake made 36.

Next weekend sees Timaru battle Star to see who will take on Celtic in the final.

Scoreboards :: Honours Board

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This