Christchurch Black remain the team to beat in the race to win the Sir Jack Newman Trophy at the 54th South Island primary schools cricket tournament.

Black walloped Buller but the country side showed great courage in their second innings.

After winning the toss and deciding to bat, Black set Buller a challenging 190 for first inning points.

Quinn Smith notched up 51 before he was run out, while Jaeden Hooper retired when reaching 50.

The country boys folded for 13 in their first dig, with James White starring with the ball, nabbing four wickets.

In their second innings, Buller showed a ton of fight to end the day at 58-3 from 60 overs.

Hugh Quirk was the second innings rock for Buller, facing 26 overs for eight runs. Cameron Hill dug in for 15 from 75 deliveries and Jamie Barr scored 24 from 99 balls.

Meanwhile, Invercargill Metro managed a paltry 49 against Otago Country. Aubrey Page scored a fighting 18.

Otago Country knocked off the runs in quick succession and declared at 102-2, for first innings points. CJ Kemp scored 26 and Thomas O’Connor made 25. Invercargill ended the day on 53-5.

Dunedin were too strong for neighbours North Otago, securing first innings honours.

North Otago were dismissed for 92, with Lachlan Brookes and Aaron Maxwell both making 18. Ollie Ritchie was Dunedin’s star picking up four wickets.

Dunedin made 110-4 in reply, with Jacob Murray hitting 42 and Jacob Cumming 24. Liam Direen was North Otago’s best bowler picking up three wickets.

In North Otago’s second dig they made 86, Brookes hitting 43 off 87 balls. Dunedin’s Louis Clydesdale bowled well snaring four second innings wickets.

South Canterbury were outclassed by Christchurch Red.

Batting first, the green-and-blacks made it through to 111, with Toby Scannell (16), Archie Batchelor (16), Cameron Slee (15) and Fletcher Rhodes (12), all posting double figures.

Christchurch Red were a disciplined attack with Hugh Fergusson, William Pierce and Sam Whittaker snaring two wickets each.

Their turn at bat saw them progress through to 182-8 from 56 overs before the match ended and winning on first innings. Scott Janett retired on 51, while Jayan Goldsworthy (28), Lachie Cartwright (20), Ryan Pringle (19) all chipped in. Jared Phillips claimed three wickets for South Canterbury.

Marlborough  scored their first win of the campaign with a first innings triumph over West Coast. Batting first they scored a competitive 187-6, with Kohri Brown and Billy Sloan among the runs.

At 65-4, West Coast was well placed but a lower order collapse saw them bundled out for 102.

Mid Canterbury secured a first innings honours over Southland Country. Southland Country struggled through to 92 batting first, Finn Hurley top scored with 27. Angus Jemmett’s 37 helped Mid Canterbury sneak over the line.

The best game of the round was the match between Nelson and Canterbury Country.

Nelson were put into bat and thanks to contributions from Jack Morris (37), Flynn Day (29) and Sam Schultz (20), they scored 146.

Canterbury Country were in strife early at 17-4 but Adam Supyk (47) and Cam Paul (48) helped secured their team’s third successive win. Country ended at 150-7.


Christchurch Black 189-3 (Q Smith 51, J Hooper 50, C Manson 29, H Forrest 20) defeated Buller 13 (J White 5-4-2-4, H Forrest 5-5-0-3) and 58-3 (J Barr 24) on first innings at Celtic Sports Ground.

South Canterbury 111 (T Scannell 16, A Batchelor 16, C Slee 15, F Rhodes 12; H Fergusson 10-7-10-2, S Whittaker 4-1-8-2, W Pierce 3.2-1-9-2) lost to Christchurch Red 182-8 (S Janett 51, J Goldsworthy 28, L Cartwright 20; J Phillips 10-1-27-3) on first innings at Aorangi Oval.

North Otago 92 (A Maxwell 18, L Brookes 18; O Ritchie 10-2-21-4, X Chisholm 4.1-2-5-3) and 86-10 (L Brookes 43, H Murphy 11 not out; L Clydesdale 7-2-15-4) lost to Dunedin 110-4 (J Murray 42, J Cumming 24; L Direen 5-1-16-3) on first innings at Ashbury Park 4.

Nelson 146 (J Morris 37, F Day 29, S Schultz 20, W Bixley 18, R Restieaux 16; J Frew 11.1-3-28-4, G Gunn 8-4-12-2) lost to Canterbury Country 150-7 (C Paul 48, A Supyk 47; W Bixley 9-3-30-2) on first innings, at Pleasant Point Domain.

Invercargill Metro 49 (A Page 18; O Alderson 6-5-2-2, Christopher Nevill 4-1-8-2) and 53-5 (A Hart 24, S Clapperton 11; T Johnson 10-5-11-3, F Marshall 3-0-5-2) lost to Otago Country 102-2 (CJ Kemp 26, T O’Connor 25, C Breen 18) on first innings at The Rectory, TBHS.

Southland Country 92-8 (F Hurley 27, J Steeghs 23, C Waihape 12; A Jemmett 15-10-5-3, H Cameron 10-5-8-3, B Middleton 8-2-12-2) lost to Mid Canterbury 93-6 (A Jemmett 37, W Hayden 13; A Waddell 15-3-28-3) on first innings at Geraldine Oval.

Marlborough 186-7 (K Brown 44, B Sloan 40, C Roberts 28, J Pannell 26; M Robbins 8-1-32-3, L Busche 5-1-17-2) defeated West Coast 102 (J Goodin 22, J Kennedy 17, M Robbins 13; B Sloan 6-2-8-2, T Petrie 8-4-9-2, D Burton 8-5-7-2, O Shore 5-0-30-2) on first innings at Waihi School.

Day four draw

Christchurch Black v Southland Country at Waihi
West Coast v Otago Country at Temuka Oval
Christchurch Red v North Otago at Pleasant Point Domain
Canterbury Country v Dunedin at Celtic Sports Ground
Nelson v Buller at Geraldine Oval
South Canterbury v Invercargill Metro at Aorangi Oval
Marlborough v Mid Canterbury at Timaru Boys’ High.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This