They say nothing beats experience and on Saturday, Celtic proved the adage correct.

The 2016 South Canterbury one-day champions added the Twenty20 crown to their collection with a comfortable five-wicket win over Pleasant Point.

It now gives them eight successive Twenty20 crowns to go with their 10 one-day titles they have won on the trot.

Celtic made it through to the final after defeating Timaru in the semifinal, earlier in the morning.

Batting first, Timaru lost wickets at regular intervals and could only manage 118-8.

Glenn Matthew was superb up front for Celtic picking up 1-9 off his four overs, while Ben Watson nabbed three wickets, including both Timaru’s openers Josh Smallridge and Hayden Leonard cheaply.

Supeshala Jayathalike looked good in his short stay at the crease but hit a ball straight to James Laming in the deep.

Prabodha Arthavidu, who was nursing a sore shoulder, batted beautifully for the red and blacks on his way to 41 until he was superbly stumped by Willie Wright.

Josh Dick added a fighting 27 not out but it was in vain as Timaru struggled to score.

It was a superb fielding effort from Celtic.

In reply, they went about knocking the runs off quickly.

James Laming smashed 68 opening the innings, before Wright added a quick fire 34 batting at first drop, which included three big sixes.

The 86-run partnership between Laming and Wright ensured they made it through to the final.

Against Point, Celtic captain Sam Carlaw turned the match in his side’s favour with a superb spell of bowling.

He picked up 4-7, including the big wicket of captain Tim Leonard for 26, and hard hitter Brad Tegelaars for 4, before wrapping up the tail.

Dan Laming nabbed two wickets including Point’s Adam Beck, who made 40, before finding the hands of Jacob Naylor, who took a good catch looking over his shoulder.

From here Point struggled, with Liam Beck (16) and Will Harvey (15) making double figures.

Celtic lost a couple of wickets early with Andy Scott and James Laming falling to quick bowler Stan Mair.

Andrew Buckingham saw Celtic home with an unbeaten 30, hitting three fours in succession off Mark Otley to win the match.

Wright backed up his 34, with a hard hitting 26, while Dan Laming chipped in with 17.

Point’s Tegelaars and Mair bowled will but the country side didn’t have enough runs on the board to put Celtic under any real pressure.

Short scoreboards:

Timaru 118-8 (P Arthavidu 41, J Dick 27 not out, B Leonard 13; B Watson 4-0-36-3, S Carlaw 4-0-19-2, G Matthews 4-1-9-1) lost to Celtic 120-3 off 14.2 overs (J Laming 68, W Wright 34) by six wickets.

Pleasant Point 111 (A Beck 40, T Leonard 26, L Beck 16, W Harvey 15; S Carlaw 3-0-7-4, G Matthews 4-0-23-2, D Laming 2.2-0-17-2) lost to Celtic 114-5 off 17.3 overs (A Buckingham 30 not out, W Wright 26, D Laming 17; S Mair 4-0-21-2, B Tegelaars 4-0-20-1) by five wickets.

Full Scorecards

Timaru v Celtic Semi-final

Pleasant Point v Celtic Final

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This