
 
South Canterbury Cricket Hand-book 2010-11 

16 Law 36 - LBW 
Shown here for a right-handed striker. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Out - LBW 
 It must be a fair delivery; LBW is not permitted off a NO-BALL. 

 If the ball pitches, it must do so either on the striker’s off-side or inside the lines. 
 The balls first point of impact must be the striker; not his bat or a hand holding the bat. 

 The balls first point of impact with the striker must be between the lines; between wicket & wicket. 
 The ball, had it not been intercepted, it must be hitting the wicket – in the umpire’s opinion. 

 If the ball is a full toss, the umpire must consider that delivery was going to follow that trajectory. 
 If the ball pitches, or makes contact with the striker outside the line of leg-stump (the solid line) the 

striker should not be dismissed LBW. 
 If the striker does not make a legitimate attempt to hit the ball: 

 The first point of impact can be on the striker’s off-side (the dotted line). 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If there is any doubt, the batsman must be given the benefit of that doubt – NOT-OUT 




